Viewing in Sagittarius 7-8-12

On 7-8-12, I was out with my 70mm refractor.  I was viewing the area around Sagittarius and Scorpio, my constellation.  First I looked at M7, that open cluster I talked about in an earlier post.  I was using those charts that I posted a link about, astro-tom.  Like I stated before, they are an excellent set of charts and do nicely for a Messier viewing night.  Speaking of which, I almost halfway through my Messier program through the Astronomical League.  Last night, I added 28 and 29.

I am not sure if I mentioned this before, but I am part of the Pomona Valley Amateur Astronomers, see the website.

http://pvaa.us/   Please check it out if you live in the Pomona area as it is a really great club to be in.  If anyone is interested at seeing my sketches or asking questions,  I will be at the meeting on this Friday (see club calender).

 

By the way, I tried out my Uranometria 2000.0 and it has an unbelievable amount of accuracy.  Most of the objects that are in that book are really dim objects, so it  doesn’t do much for my 70mm.  Hopefully, when I get my telescope making project finished, that will open up some more deep sky objects to view.

Also, one more thing before I close, I just found out today that there is a supernova in Sagittarius. I found out about this here:       http://10minuteastronomy.wordpress.com/2012/07/07/mission-21-nova-in-sagittarius/

There is an excellent chart that the author made up to ( at the bottom of the page).   I actually viewed the nova last night, see my comment on the right side bar of 10minuteastronomy.

Leave a Reply

