Mirror Making

The last week or so, there have been clouds everywhere and no observing whatsoever.  I thought this would be a great time to start my telescope making project.  I am sure that as soon as I start, there will be an extrordinary night.  Anyway, I have finally collected all of the materials necessary for my project.  My first 3 grades of abraisive (Silicone Carbide) came today.

The first 3 grades are, #80, 120 and 220.  With shipping and tax, this came to about 18 dollars.  My grinding stand has been completed, I have the blanks so now all I have to do is start making it!  The first thing to do, will be to fasten the “tool” to the stand.  This is done by 3 wooden cleats that hold the glass in place.  Before starting the work, you must make sure that you use old clothes, or an apron as will this make a mess.  I will lay some trash bags down on the floor and wet all of the surfaces to minimize dust.  This is not necessary in the beginning grinding stages, but is critical later on.

I wish I had more time but I’m starting school on  Monday and will not be blogging as much as I have.  I plan to start my project tommorow and I am making a video on it.  I will most likely show it at my club, PVAA.  If you would like to see this video, I’ll probabily put it on YouTube and if not, I can send you a copy.

Grinding Stand

One thought on “Mirror Making

  1. HI JUSTIN;
    THIS IS GRANDPA REPLYING TO YOUR BLOG. YOUR GRINDING STAND LOOKS GREAT. I WAS SURPRISED BY HOW THICK YOUR MIRROR AND TOOL LOOK. I HOPE EVERYTHING
    GOES WELL FOR YOU SATURDAY. I’LL GIVE YOU A CALL AFTER 11:00 AM TO CHECK ON
    YOUR PROGRESS
    BEST REGARDS
    GRANDPA

Leave a Reply

