Project Update: Telescope Making 4

The continuation of my telescope making project is making headway.  I just got all of the abrasives necessary to finish all for the grinding .     I ‘m making good progress, but the going is slow.  I used my grandpa’s book that he made in the 1960’s-  Building a Reflecting Telescope.  Don’t try to look for this book, because it was never published.  It does have some very good drawings and explains a simplified way to build a telescope.

Well, I’m doing an even more simplified version of his book.  I found in the last chapter of Amateur Telescope Making.  Here’s a quote:

“For the first mirror we had to abandon Pyrex, the mirror handle, the pitch polishing lap, and the paraboloid.  We teach the beginner some of the rudiments of the Foucault test but only because we are present to coach the worker in its use.  Although pitch laps give finer polish and fewer zones, they are so difficult for the average beginner to make and alter that we regard them as the principal bottleneck in mirror-making.  They have discouraged more beginners than any one thing, or any ten things.  Although we get fewer fine mirrors with honeycomb foundation, it best suits our purpose, which is to finish the first mirror while the maker’s enthusiasm lasts.”

I pretty much agree with everything that they are stating here, and this “group” is the telescope making group from the Cleveland Museum of Natural History.  I checked out their website, and I’m pretty sure that they don’t make telescopes there anymore.  Apparently, there used to be a free program to build your own telescope from scratch, using a honeycomb foundation instead of regular pitch.  The only thing I don’t agree with is the part for a beginner not being able to make a successful pitch lap.

I guess that that this does not apply in my case as I have telescope making in my blood (thanks grandpa).    I’ve set up a grinding schedule and I plan to follow it quite closely.  I plan to grind through one grade every weekend.  I have 5 more grades to grind through, so I guess I won’t finish it by my birthday, but I’m not devastated.  Good mirrors take time, and that’s fine by me.

On Friday, I was really excited so i made some good progress through Saturday as well.  I ground my way through Silicon Carbide #320 and then on to White Aluminum Oxide 25micron.  It is very strange going from this muddy grey sludge to a white sludge.  The abrasive is becoming so fine that it doesn’t really feel gritty.  The only similar substance I can use to describe it is powdered sugar.

I have also thought about starting a new WordPress blog.  I want to do a blog that is like a sketch reference website.  But it has to be with at least 1 small telescope, as well as with a bigger telescope.  Of course, I have to have a lot of objects sketched in order to that, and I haven’t done that.  I have made many sketches, but not 110, yet.

Also, they would probably need to be black paper/background to really get noticed.  I have heard of running the white paper sketch through a scanner and then altering it to a negative image, but I don’t have a scanner, so I guess that means I have to use real black paper.  But that’s fine with me, I’ve been eager to use a different media for sketching.  Hopefully, sometime in the near future I can have a sketch on Astronomy Sketch of the Day.

Someday, I will make larger, more complicated telescopes as well.

One thought on “Project Update: Telescope Making 4

Leave a Reply

