Lunar Eclipse 2014

I set up the reflectors for the Eclipse on the 14th.  This was my very first lunar eclipse, and I’ll say, it was spectacular.

The Big 12 ready for the eclipse!

The Big 12 ready for the eclipse!

As expected, the Eclipse started around 11:00, seen as a dark protrusion on one side. The image of the moon dramatically changed over a period of just a few minutes.  My little brother Kevin joined and took control of the RV-6, and really enjoyed swapping out eyepieces.  It was a lot of fun, and he was very impressed with the views.  I was using the 12.5″ and the moon is so bright my eye started to hurt after a while.  Kevin came over and enjoyed several minutes on the stepladder intently watching the eclipse.  I think he may have an early case of aperture fever!

The shadow continued to creep over surface, gobbling up crater after crater into the inky shadow.  I could still see the features, but they were faint in the shadow.  Eventually, a soft orange glow came over the shadow area and made the features more pronounced.  I created a  4 photo montage showing the stages of the event.

038

Eclipse montage, taken through both scopes using Ipod Touch camera

I edited the photos to bring out the red orange coloring, and to make the surface features more apparent.  In reality it appeared more subdued. As Lunar totality arrived, I noticed that my surroundings had drastically changed.  For one, it was very dark, and many stars came out. Usually on a full moon all but the very brightest stars are washed out, but now with the eclipsed moon, it was dark like a night without a moon.  Also, it became very quiet.  The crickets ceased their chirping and the wind had finally settled down.  It was amazing watching the eclipse.  There was scattered clouds throughout the evening, but I managed to get excellent views.  During totality, a cloud would pass over and it would turn the same color as the moon.  Soon after totality, I had to go to bed, as it was a school night!

As much as I would have loved to make a sketch of the moon, during this event, sketching anything lunar is extremely difficult for me.  Deep sky? No problem.  Planets? I can do it.  Lunar? No way! There is another lunar eclipse this October, and hopefully it will be as exciting as this one was.  I’m glad I got to experience this, even though it happens relatively often.  It’s always nice to have a total lunar eclipse as your first one! I found that the views through my 40mm finder scopes were spectacular, just as good as through the big scope and the RV-6. In this case, it’s not aperture that counts as much as magnification, which should be low.  In any case, a lunar eclipse is really fun to experience, telescope or not.

3 thoughts on “Lunar Eclipse 2014

  1. JUSTIN;
    GOOD REPORT, SO GLAD THAT YOUR FIRST LUNAR ECLIPSE WAS SO SPECTACULAR. WAS IMPRESSED WITH YOUR PHOTO’S AS WELL. GLAD TO HEAR THAT KEVIN TOOK AN INTEREST IN THE EVENT WHO KNOWS MAYBE THE ASTRONOMY BUG WILL BITE HIM. THE EVENT HERE IN PRESCOTT WAS PERFECT AND I STAYED UP THROUGH MOST OF TOTALITY. LOOKING FORWARD TO THE OCT. ECLIPSE.
    GRANDPA NEIL
    CLEAR SKYS…………..

Leave a Reply

